Direct Administration of Controlled Substance – March 27, 2018
- Before dispensing or prescribing buprenorphine, or a drug containing buprenorphine or methadone, to a patient in a substance use disorder program, a prescriber must obtain and review a MAPS report. In addition, for dispensing prescribers, individuals must report data into MAPS.
Opioid Start Talking – June 1, 2018
- When prescribing a controlled substance that is an opioid, patients must be informed of the risks and dangers of taking an opioid.
- It is the provider’s responsibility to share the information on the Start Talking Form and obtain necessary signatures
Mandatory MAPS (Michigan Automated Prescribing System) – June 1, 2018
- Subject to some exceptions, all licensed prescribers in Michigan will be required to check and review a MAPS report when prescribing more than a 3-day supply of controlled substance (schedule 2-5), including stimulants for ADHD.
- All providers are required to register for MAPS.
Quantity Limits – July 1, 2018
- When treating a patient for acute pain, the legislation requires that no more than a 7-day supply of an opioid within a 7-day period can be prescribed. If you prescribe more than a 3-day supply, a MAPS check is required.
Bona Fide Relationship – April 4, 2019
- A licensed prescriber shall not prescribe any controlled substance (schedule 2-5) unless the prescriber is in a bona fide prescriber/patient relationship, defined as one where the prescriber has reviewed the patient’s relevant medical records and completed an assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a relevant medical evaluation conducted in person or via telehealth.
For more information on the Michigan opioid laws, please review Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) FAQs.